The Library will be closed on Wednesday, June 19, 2024, in observance of Juneteenth.

youth media awards

Caldecott winners: Yuko Shimizu, Noa Denmon, Cozbi A. Cabrera, Cindy Derby, and Michaela Goade
Mara Alpert, March 19, 2021

History was made during the announcement of the American Library Association’s Youth Media Awards on January 25, 2021. One award, in particular, presented several historic firsts. That award? The Randolph Caldecott Medal, which is awarded for the most distinguished American picture book for children.