The Library will be closed on Monday, May 27, 2024, in observance of Memorial Day.

Tracy Flick Can’t Win: A Novel

Tom Perrotta
In Conversation With Albert Berger
Thursday, June 23, 2022
Episode Summary

Fans of best-selling author Tom Perrotta’s Election will remember the signature character Tracy Flick—Reese Witherspoon’s character from the classic movie adaptation. She is back, and, once again, the iconic protagonist is determined to take high school politics by storm. In classic Perrotta style, his new book Tracy Flick Can’t Win is a sharp, darkly comic, and pitch-perfect reflection on our current moment. Flick fans and newcomers alike will love this compelling novel chronicling the second act of one of the most memorable characters of our time. For this ALOUD program, Tom Perrotta and film producer Albert Berger, who has produced many films and television series based on Perrotta’s novels, including Election, Little Children, and The Leftovers for HBO, will talk about the depth of Perrotta’s characters and why they translate so well from the page to the screen.

Participant(s) Bio

Tom Perrotta is the bestselling author of ten works of fiction, including Election and Little Children, both of which were made into critically acclaimed movies, and The Leftovers and Mrs. Fletcher, which were both adapted into the HBO series. He lives outside Boston.

Albert Berger formed Bona Fide Productions with Ron Yerxa in 1992. Their producing credits include King of the Hill, Election, Cold Mountain, Little Children, and Best Picture Academy Award Nominees Little Miss Sunshine and Nebraska. Their recent films include The Peanut Butter Falcon and Blow The Man Down, and their new film Somewhere in Queens will premiere at the 2022 Tribeca Film Festival. A graduate of Tufts University and Columbia University School of the Arts, he has owned and managed the Sandburg Theatre in Chicago, written scripts for studios from Paramount and TriStar to MGM, and served as Vice President of Development for Marvin Worth Productions as well as a governor for the producer’s branch on the board of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.