John Updike, LAPL Literary Awards 1999 | Los Angeles Public Library
Print this page

John Updike, LAPL Literary Awards 1999

Friday, April 30, 1999
Episode Summary
The great American writer John Updike received the Los Angeles Public Library's Literary Award in 1999. The award, given annually, is granted to a writer for his or her contribution to literature. Updike joins past winners Norman Mailer, Harper Lee, Susan Sontag, and Seamus Heaney in receiving this honor. The following recording is taken from his acceptance speech at the Library Foundation of Los Angeles' Annual Awards dinner.

Participant(s) Bio