And Now For Something Completely Different: No Best Sellers | Los Angeles Public Library
Print this page

And Now For Something Completely Different: No Best Sellers

Sheryn Morris, Librarian, Central Library,
and now for something completely different
Monty Python Movie Poster, 1971

Many books are published every year, and few of them make it to the numerous bestseller lists. Consider the books listed below, where you will find something old and something new to read. Also take a look at Reading by Design: Books About Books, with more suggestions for good reads. Your library card makes it possible to check out hundreds of books and other materials for free. It is up to you, dear reader, to decide if you like any of them. If you don’t like something, then drop it—in the book drop, or remove from your e-reader. Los Angeles Public Library has many more books that will make you want to read on and on.



A play and a movie were based on this small book of letters between New York writer, Helene Hanff, and British bookseller, Frank Doel. Hanff’s love of very specific books set her off on an adventure to find those she wanted to own. The time is post-World War II, and the way to buy books was at local stores or by writing to booksellers. The correspondence is a tribute to the love of books and reading.


Bennett, Alan, 1934-

What might Queen Elizabeth II read if she visited a bookmobile? Alan Bennett, British playwright, screenwriter, and novelist, playfully has the current monarch’s corgis lead her to a bookmobile just outside the castle. What books would be of interest to her, and what could possibly happen?



With recipes, games, and activities from well-loved children’s books, Jane Brocket will take you down memory lane. Some readers might want to revisit the joys of early childhood reading or jumpstart adult reading doldrums by selecting a few of the memorable books that are referenced.



For fans of Elena Ferrante, Anna Maria Ortese's writings are supposed to have provided inspiration for the Neapolitan Novels. This is a compilation of essays and fiction by one of Italy's notable writers. As for Ferrante's novels, we recommend you read the novels first.



Olympe de Gouges? Until reading this book I had no idea who this revolutionary woman was, and what contributions she made to the rights of women and all human beings, through her writing and with her life. A unique book which has her original manifesto, other references, and illustrations by a gathering of artists.



During the heyday of Parisian jewelry design in the 1930s three exceptional pins were created by the House of Boivin: identical starfish, composed of cabochon rubies and amethysts, and unique because of articulation. Once attached to a woman’s clothing, the starfish would delicately conform or curl to her movement. Burns enters the exclusive, secret world of private jewelry sales, to research the women who owned and wore the starfish, and to find out why the pins are still coveted today.



Lore Segal’s semi-autobiographical novel is about her life as a refugee Jewish child evacuated from Austria during World War II to the relative safety of England. It is a poignant and candid reflection about a child’s displacement, and how it feels to be thrust into new surroundings, without the immediate comfort and solace of one’s own family.



“How ‘Bout them Dodgers?” Jon Weisman, Dodger maven, explains it all in a previous book, 100 things Dodgers Fans Should Know & Do Before They Die. In this new book, he examines the history of the team’s great pitchers, including interviews with players, coaches, teammates, plus statistical tables to satisfy the most ardent fans. Check out this interview with Weisman, and his most current thoughts in the blog Dodger Thoughts, which includes an archive of his articles.


 

 

 

Top